When in Rome

Everyone deserves a little bit of sunshine, but unfortunately this year I was very limited to where I could go, or what I could do, because of my back (I lived State side last Summer). Part of me was craving a relaxing holiday by the pool, but that aint what CulturedCuppa is about! I thought a city break would be ideal to try something new and explore new cultures without my back getting in the way.

Why Rome? For handiness sake it’s in the EU so no changing money; less stress, more success. Its only 2 hours forty minutes by plane from Dublin. It’s exceptionally hot- I am a sun worshiper. It is bursting with history and culture. It’s relatively cheap, but if you use your smarts- it’s really cheap. Rome seemed like a perfect option, and it was!

CULTURE

I was absolutely blown away by the raw beauty of the city. I was expecting it to be like any modern city with built up buildings and the likes- nope! Rome still holds its authentic beauty with white stone and marble buildings surrounded by the ruins of the ancient romans. It actually felt as though I stepped back in time. There is so much to see and do, and you could probably do it all in a long weekend, but I was glad I gave myself a week. It’s a hell of a lot of walking but sure when did that kill anyone? My one regret was not having a good camera, although my iPhone was sufficient. There are ancient artefacts and hidden treasures all over the city so it’s best to see it by foot rather than the Metro or a bus. If art is your thing you’ll be in the right place. Seeing a Salvador Dali or Michelangelo piece in real life is truly special. Rome can get uncomfortably hot but water is free from taps around the city and safe to drink, otherwise you could be paying three euro a bottle from water venders- no thanks.

photo (25)

The Vatican City

rome

 GRUB

I died and went to pasta heaven. I am a food person although I might not look it! Italian has always been my go to meal (lasagne being my numero uno). If you want the authentic taste however, you do need to venture off the beaten tourist track. In saying that, I did find some gems along the busy streets too! Prices vary depending on where you dine. For instance if you eat by The Spanish Steps prices almost double; whereas if you head towards The Trevi Fountain and Via Natzionale you’ll get the same great food for half the price! An amazing traditional lasagne and roast olive oil and basil potatoes with wine (Grill and Wine- 2 minutes from the fountain) cost me twenty euros, and it was worth every bite. Fish is also very popular and fresh. All restaurants have outdoor seating too and is just fabulous at night time- but you need to get there early if you want an outside table.

Gorgeous traditional carbonara and just one of the many beautiful restaurants

Gorgeous traditional carbonara and just one of the many beautiful restaurants

GLAD RAGS

Just on front of the famous Spanish Steps lies a narrow street filled with the world’s finest boutiques and fine diamond jewellers. Luxury goods seemed to be the go-to-necessity in Rome and I was taken aback by the extraordinary amount of wealth in the city. You don’t dare go inside unless you are willing to spend money, but nonetheless the stores were very busy. My jealousy meter went off the scale. Further down from the ‘street of dreams’ are more shops that cater for a smaller budget like Nike, Adidas, ZARA and H&M. The stores offer a nice get away from the heat outside.

vanity

DAY TRIPS

Rome almost acts as a halfway house between North and South Italy- so there are a lot of day trips on offer. Pompeii has always been on my bucket list since I was little so I was beyond excited. Be warned though; travel expenses are not cheap. My train ticket was forty-three euro one way. There is a cheaper and longer train but tourists are advised not to get this because of the huge amount of gypsies and pickpockets around. Money aside; Pompeii is magnificent. Lying in the shadows of colossal Mount Vesuvius, Pompeii is quite a large city and takes around three hours to get around. Be sure to bring the sun block and a hat. If this isn’t your thing, visiting the beautiful island of Capri might be (who was recently visited by Mr Valentino himself). Full day tours are on offer from 132 euros by tour companies which include travel expenses and lunch but I found it cheaper to do it yourself- Just do your homework before hand so you don’t waste your own time. If you don’t have time for day trips outside Rome there is still tons to do in the city like see the wonders of The Vatican, the countless basilicas and the ancient ruins.

Pompeii

Pompeii

photo (23)

kyakGOLDEN OLDIES

Okay so it’s not the roman equivalent of Ibiza, but Rome is jam-packed with bars and the odd few clubs if you head out of the tourist district. It’s not the go-to-place for mad nights out, but to be honest, you do so much during the day that a relaxing bottle (or three) of wine over-looking the Coliseum is exactly what the doctor ordered. HINT- there is an Ice bar just off Via Natzionale. Every Tuesday they have an all you can drink special for 20 euro. What adventure did you take on this Summer?

wine

Love,
CulturedCuppa x

2 thoughts on “When in Rome

Leave a comment